Published On: Tue, Oct 27th, 2015

Rwanda Internet Exchange Point secures support

iep rwKIGALI, (CAJ News) – THE Rwanda Internet Exchange Point has received a major boost after the African Union pledged its support to enable it become one of the regional internet exchange points for Eastern Africa.

AU has offered its support through the Infrastructure and Energy Department, which has collaborated with the Rwanda Ministry of Youth and Information and Communications Technology of Rwanda.

Through the African Internet Exchange System (AXIS) project, the African Union Commission has so far extended capacity building support to facilitate the establishment of internet exchange points in 30 Member

With the support of the African Union Commission, the following twelve Member States have since set up their internet exchange points: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Congo Republic, Gabon, Gambia, Ivory Coast,
Liberia, Mauritius, Namibia, Seychelles and Swaziland.

The African Union Commission plans to award grants to ten internet exchange points in Africa to grow and become regional internet exchange points. Following two calls for proposals issued through open tendering, internet exchange points in six Member States have so far been awarded grants to grow to become regional internet exchange points.

“The African Internet Exchange System and the One Africa Network projects will contribute to lowering of communication costs in Africa,” said Jean Philbert Nsengimana, Minister of Youth and ICT.

It has been noted that Africa is currently paying overseas carriers to exchange intra- continental traffic on our behalf.

“This is both costly as well as an inefficient way of handling exchange of intra-continental Internet traffic,” said Dr Elham Ibrahim, AU Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy.

CAJ News

Featured Video