Published On: Mon, May 9th, 2016

Nominees Announced for African Banker Awards

African Banker AwardsJOHANNESBURG , CAJ News – THE shortlist for the tenth edition of the African Banker Awards has been released.

This year’s shortlist is dominated by some of the larger banking groups from North, East, South and West Africa.

The winners will be revealed at a gala dinner during the African Bank Annual meetings that will be held at the end of May in Lusaka, Zambia.
The awards are open to all African financial institutions, including banks, micro-financiers, investment banks, development finance institutions and other financial services institutions.

Omar Ben Yedder, speaking on behalf of the organizers, “said we are thrilled that the African Banker awards are celebrating their tenth anniversary this year.”

GTBank from Nigeria is nominated in three categories including Bank of the Year, Banker of the Year and Innovation. Ecobank is also nominated three times. Rand Merchant Bank from South Africa dominates the investment banking and deal entries.

Other strong performers include CRDB Bank from Tanzania, KCB from Kenya, Standard Bank group from South Africa and also Attijariwafa Bank from Morocco, which has a major presence in North and West Africa. The winners will be selected by an independent panel of judges selected for their expertise of the banking and financial landscape throughout the continent.

MasterCard, Ecobank/Nedbank, African Guarantee Fund, PTA Bank are sponsors of the awards.

2016 Banker Awards Shortlist:

Banker of the Year
Segun Agbaje – GTB Nigeria
Hisham Ezz el Arab – CIB Egypt
Joshua Nyamweya Olgara – KCB Kenya
Dr Charles Kimei – CRDB Bank Tanzania
Paulo Alexandre Duarte de Sousa – BCI Bank Mozambique

Bank of the Year
Attijariwafa, Morocco
Banque Centrale Populaire, Morocco
Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria
Standard Bank Group
Mauritius Commercial Bank, Mauritius

Best Retail Bank
BCI, Mozambique
CRDB Bank, Tanzania
Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria
KCB, Kenya

Investment Bank of the Year
Rand Merchant Bank

Award for Financial Inclusion
Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco
Banque Nationale pour le Developpement Economique, Senegal
Mastercard – National Bank of Egypt
Safaricom and KCB, Kenya

Bank M, Tanzania
BMCE, Morocco
Commercial International Bank, Egypt
Standard Chartered, Zambia

Bidvest and Mastercard, South Africa
Equity Bank, Kenya
Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria
Mauritius Commercial Bank, Mauritius
Ovamba Cameroon Solutions, Cameroon

Deal of the Year – Equity
EDITA Food Industries IPO (EFG)
Mediclinic’s $2.1bn reverse takeover of Al Noor Hospitals (RMB)
Oando $290m rights issue (Vetiva)
Naspers $2.5bn Accelerated Equity Offering (Citi)
Saham’s acquisition of majority stake in Continental Re. (Stanbic IBTC)

Deal of the Year – Debt
Accugas (FBN Capital)
Cameroon’s currency swap (Lazard)
Cote d’Ivoire Sukuk (ICD)
Richard Bay Minerals Syndicated Term (Rand Merchant Bank)
Transcorp Domestic Bond (United Capital and Stanbic IBTC)

Infrastructure Deal of the Year 
Azura – Edo IPP (Fieldstone; Rand Merchant Bank; Standard Bank; IFC)
Itezhi-Tezhi Hydro Power Station (Fieldstone)
Maamba Collieries (Barclays)
Minister of Finance Angola Roads Financing (Rand Merchant Bank)
Zina Solar One Power Solar Project (Rand Merchant Bank)

CAJ News

Featured Video